National Awards

National Award Recipients 2015


Honour Badge

The Honour Badge is the highest honour awarded, in recognition of a volunteer’s service to their section over many years. Recipients are nominated by their section and the Honour Badges are awarded at National Conference by the National President.

Gail Paratz

Janet Frommer

Barbara Shotland
New South Wales

Vivien Brass

Valerie Frank
Western Australia

National President’s Award

Shirley Glance

National President’s Gold Honour Badge Award

Sylvia Deutsch

Barbara Stewart-Kann OAM
Gold Coast

NCJWA Miriam Stein Memorial Trophy

The Miriam Stein Memorial Trophy is awarded for exceptional vision and leadership in the promotion of interfaith relations.

Ester Steingiesser
Western Australia

Honorary Member of National Board

Susie Ivany OAM

Honorary Life Vice President

Carolyn Goldsmith OAM



 Fanny Reading Scholarship

Inaugurated in 1973 during the Golden Jubilee Conference, the Fanny Reading Scholarships are awarded to acknowledge and encourage leadership potential among younger members. The award recipient is proposed by their Section Board of Management and the prize assists with attendance at the Quadrennial Conference, where scholarship winners are expected to attend all sessions, research and report on a particular aspect of the work of NCJWA.

Mandi Chonowitz-Jacobson
New South Wales

Deborah Strauch

Shelley London
Western Australia